MN CE Courses - Professional, Core and Eyelash Extensions

These courses are required of all Minnesota licensed cosmetologists, estheticians and nail technicians who are renewing their licenses.

If you have any questions regarding the class or about maintaining a current license, please see the Frequently Asked Questions at the bottom of this page, or call  (952) 283-2770.

For any technical support for the website, please call (612) 636-6668.

Online course? Register for the class you want, when you want.

Online CORE and PROFESSIONAL Course Listings

$50 Professional CE Course + $40 Core CE Course; $80 for Course Bundles

Licenses renewing after August 1, 2017 are required by the MN Board to take 4 hours of “Professional practice” education AND 4 hours of “Core” education. Follow the link to see the online classes we offer.

Online Eyelash Extension 6 Hour CE Course

$60

Those performing eyelash extension services can be grandfathered into a new state licensure if they have already completed an eyelash certification program prior to July 1, 2017 and take this 6-hour CE course before February 1, 2018 to remain licensed for this service.

If you fall outside of the certificate program or CE course to remain active, you will need to take a 14 hour eyelash extension certification course.

Online CORE and PROFESSIONAL Course Listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to take the Safety/Sanitation class?

     All licensed cosmetologists, nail technicians and estheticians must take this class prior to renewal. The name has now changed to a CORE class. Chances are you took a class similarly on your last renewal, but this course is required each time you renew. 

Can I pay online?

 Yes, the online classes will require payment online before beginning the course.

Where do I take it?

 You can take all our CE classes online through the link above. 

I was doing the online class and it froze.  What do I do?

Check your internet connection. If everything seems normal, please call our tech support number to call (612) 636-6668.

When do I need to take these classes?

These classes a re required for each license renewal (once every 3 years).

I have more than one license.  How many times do I have to take this class?

If you are dual-licensed, you may count one class toward both licenses as long as the class taken falls within the 3-year renewal period for both licenses.

Are there any other classes I have to take?

Beginning August 2017, an additional 4 hours of Professional Practice continuing education was required.  

I took the classes.  What else do I have to do to renew my license?

     Once you’ve completed the class, you will need to go to the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologists Examiners to fill out and submit your application and payment for renewal.  For most licenses this can be completed online.  It is recommended to complete this process 4-6 weeks prior to your license expiration date to allow for processing time.

My license already expired.  Do I still need to take this class?

If your license has expired we suggest you looking at the BCE approved Active Renewal Requirement form to best guide your decision to become active. 

Do I still need to take a 40-hour Refresher Course?

     As of September 2016, this is no longer a requirement for renewal.  Currently, the requirement is a 4 hour Core CE Class and 4 hour Professional Practice CE Course.

nail technician program
cosmetology images
atelier academy exterior